Software Testing Process

Software testing process is a method in which the interior organization or pattern of an object which is tested is unknown to the trial. Software testing process can be classified into two groups which are:

  1. Functional Requirement
  2. Non-Functional Requirement.

Functional Requirement:

A functional requirement is the type of requirement in which what the system should do is specified. In these requirement, a particular set of behavior or usefulness is properly described when a certain clause is met. They are various types of functional requirement which includes;

  1. Authorization levels
  2. Business Rules
  3. Authentication
  4. Audit Tracking
  5. External Interfaces
  6. Certificate Requirement
  7. Historical Data
  8. Reporting Requirement
  9. Administrative Function
  10. Legal or Regulatory Requirements
  11. Transaction corrections, adjustment and cancellations

Non – Functional Requirement:

In these type of requirement, how the system should behaves or work is described as well as its limitation. It generally describe the system’s quality, characteristics or attribute. The following are the types of non-functional requirement which are;

  1. Performance
  2. Scalability
  3. Capacity
  4. Availability
  5. Reliability
  6. Maintainability
  7. Security
  8. Regulatory
  9. Data Integrity.

It is quite important to study and know the state of the non-functional requirement as they are important when interacting with the system as they affect user’s exposure.

They are various levels in which software are created, they are sometimes refers to as software development lifecycle where tested can be carried out. These level cannot be neglected, but they are mandatory. These level are

  1. Unit Testing: This is a level of testing in which every single unit or component of the design or software is tested. These testing is refers to as validation (i.e. are will building the right system?).
  2. Integration Testing: In these level of testing, the major goal is to expose the fault that are in the system when they are integrated. In these level of testing, each single component are combined together to form a single component and are tested as a group.
  3. System Testing: These level of testing is a process in which an integrated system is tested. The purpose of this is to ensure that the complete system designed or developed meet the specific user requirement.
  4. Acceptance Testing: This is a process of testing in which the software developed is tested for acceptability purpose. These testing is done to ensure that the software complies with the business requirement, and it can deliver the required result.

There are various software testing method which are used in conducting various test for different software types. There are five (5) important method of testing, these methods are;

  1. Black Box Testing: These method can be functional or non- functional requirement testing, but they are mostly functional requirement. In these type of testing, the internal structure of the developed software being tested is unknown to the tester.
  2. White Box Testing: In these method, the object or developed software being tested is known to the tester. It has some techniques which are control flow testing, branch testing, path testing and data flow testing.
  3. Gray Box Testing: This is a type of software testing method which comprises of both black box and white box testing.
  4. Agile Testing: This is a method of testing which follows the process of Agile software development.
  5. Ad Hoc Testing: This is a testing method in which there is no planning and documentation of process development.

During development of software, all these method of testing are used in testing the software in order to make sure that the software developed is of standard and user requirements are satisfied.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here